Food, Glorious Food

There is no way that I can do justice in a few blog posts for the fabulous-ness of the food we cooked, nor the volume.  So, instead of going on about the ingredients, the craziness of the kitchen, Chef Franco exclaiming ‘Oh My God, Oh My God’ over and over again (sometimes in a good way and sometimes in a bad way), I’ll just sum it all up with this… my selections for the best of each course for the week:

First Course – Artichoke Flan Topped with Burrata

Thursday First Course - Artichoke Flan Topped with Burrata

Second Course – Homemade Ravioli with Mushroom and Porcini Filling Topped with Peas Ham and Cream Sauce

Tuesday Second Course - Homemade Ravioli with Mushroom and Porcini Filling Topped with Peas Ham and Cream Sauce

 

Third Course – Wild Boar Stew.  You’ll have to take my word for this one… I forgot to take a picture of this one!

 

Dessert Course – Farmer Cake with Pan-Fried Plums or Molten Chocolate Lava Cake… it was a tie!

Tuesday Dessert Course - Farmer Cake with Pan Fried Plum Sauce Accompanies by Balsalmic Vinegar Gelato in a Honey Basket

Saturday Dessert Course - Molten Chocolate Lava Cake with Strawberry Gelato in a Dough Cone

Above and beyond the food, I must say that the camaraderie is what made the week.  While we all came together as strangers, we parted as friends.  Some even had new nicknames.  Loraine will forever be known as ‘Sangiovese’ for her uncanny ability to cook with a glass of red wine in her hand.  I started the week labeled ‘Disastre’ and ended it with ‘Hero Spice’ instead.  Wendy got the name ‘Sneaky Spice’ for her ability to sneak up on you with a good zinger.  And on it went!  Let’s just say a good time was had by all, and our trainers will be having a good time when we return!

